Sable: Dark Sentinel bk 1 by Dariel Raye

Sable: Dark Sentinel #1

By Dariel Raye

Sable Adler is a shifter, an Alpha sentinel; protector of the packs whether they want him or not. Unfortunately they usually don’t, they fear him as much as they need him.

He is in Georgia because that is where he traced his twin sister too right before she got in trouble. Now he is stuck in wolf form, and a beautiful woman is giving him the distinguished name of Brutus, and is treating him like a pet; at least he can intimidate her two other dogs and the two cats give him a wide berth.

Akila Marshall is a veterinarian that loves all animals and can’t to see one homeless or hurting, so when her friend Brenda from the city shelter calls about an emergency case she rushes right over. Mr. Vicious, as Brenda calls him because he snapped at everyone else, is a wolf, not half wolf, but a full wolf, and Akila falls in love at first sight. She takes him home and names him Brutus, much better than Mr. Vicious. When he disappears the first night, she cries hoping nobody shots him on sight.

Would she still be crying if she finds out he’s a shifter? Would she even believe in shifters? Why does her clinic and her no kill shelter have the smell of his sister but she doesn’t? Will the people after Sable be able to get and keep him? Why are they after him and his sister? Who is the other Alpha shifter he smells around?

This is a new shifter mythos, very well started out. I do admit that the ending came very abruptly and slightly unsatisfying to me. I don’t know if I will continue with this series, maybe one more book to see if it stands up any better. The ground work has been laid for a good story line, but can she play it out or all of them going to end so quickly? I will wait and see. I admit this one had some very hot sex scenes in it, but at the end it seemed that was what the whole book ended up being about, it left me disappointed. I give this book a three star rating and hope the next is better.

About lyssareviews

I am a single, pagan female who loves the written word. I am doing reviews on books to feed my reading habit. I will post those reviews here. I also love movies, TV shows, and laughing with my friends. I love to cochet, and am starting to spin my own yarn. Boy, do I think there very fun stories in that! So they might show up here. Also I have two cats and a small dog. Valkyrie, Miss Dottie and Sir Luck the Pup.... their stories may also sneak in here from time to time, to stay tuned.

Posted on 2012/07/26, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

