A Modern Witch: A Modern Witch #1 by Debora Geary

I loved this book; it caught you immediately, started a smart trot and was soon in a full gallop that comfortably carried you all the way through the rest of the book.

Lauren is a normal 28 year old realtor living in Chicago, IL. One night she goes on line shopping for groceries, and ends up “fetched” into a witches chat room by a spell code. She is a witch, no she is not, we will send you my brother to assess you, Nell says. Okay, she has had weirder first dates. Then Jamie finds her at her favorite sushi bar at lunch the next day and upside down goes her world.

It doesn’t help the first time they are having a serious training session, Nat, her best-friend walks into the room and Jamie looks up to see who it is and has a full precognition that rocks his world and washes back into Lauren opening all her channels. He decides to get her back to Berkley ASAP; where there are stronger Mind Witches that can help her at what is know is Witch Central. He rigs up an iPod with a blocking spell for the plane so that Lauren is not bombarded with thoughts and emotions for everyone else. This works just fine until they are getting off the plane and the batteries die; Aervyn, his young nephew the super-witchling, notices her distress immediately and in a crowded San Francisco airport throws up a ice shield around her mind to block everything.

relationship that fits the both of them. One thing that Lauren finds out fast is that using any kind of magic ramps up your metabolism and cookies, ice cream and good food are always in plentiful supply in any good witch’s house.

I loved this book, I know I said that already, but I honestly can’t say it enough. This isn’t a romance in your typical fashion, though there is a light romance flirty around the edges between Jamie and Nat. This is a book about empowering yourself, having fun with the gifts you were given, and making the most of life, family, and friends around you. And that family isn’t always the blooded ones you were born with; sometimes you have to make your own.

I give this whole series a five star rating, starting with this book. I will get to the others in the next couple days. If you like fun, comedy, magic, and real spells that uplift you, you must quickly go and pick this book and all of this series up and read them up. I don’t usually go one book after another with a series, this one I did. As soon as I closed one book I opened the next, couldn’t wait to get back to Witch Central and find out what was happening and what mischief all my witchlings were getting into.

About lyssareviews

I am a single, pagan female who loves the written word. I am doing reviews on books to feed my reading habit. I will post those reviews here. I also love movies, TV shows, and laughing with my friends. I love to cochet, and am starting to spin my own yarn. Boy, do I think there very fun stories in that! So they might show up here. Also I have two cats and a small dog. Valkyrie, Miss Dottie and Sir Luck the Pup.... their stories may also sneak in here from time to time, to stay tuned.

Posted on 2012/10/03, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

