Night of the Living Demon Slayer

** This book was for review.

     First off let me say that this is the first of this series by Angie Fox I have read, I have read and enjoyed her Southern Spirits series, this was great!  It was full of laugh out loud moments.  The fact that I know a couple grey hair biker women made this book even better.

    The concept of a thirty member biker gang of grandmother age witches called the Red Skulls who back up their Leaders granddaughter, Elizabeth (Lizzie), who is a Demon Slayer, by the way, was pretty interesting.  The fact that said Demon Slayer is married to a hot Griffon shifter, give the girl points for skills.  I definitely have to go back and find book one and start from the beginning now.  Not that this book didn’t m as keep sense being read out of order, just would have figured some things out a little faster is all.  In this book Carpenter comes looking for Lizzie, he has a Voodoo bokor do we n in New Orleans, LA collecting dark souls and budding them up for some purpose.  One of those souls he put into a large white alligator that he had reanimated.  Since Lizzie owed one, she agreed, and the Red Skulls started packing ready to ‘bug out’ within in hour. This was their first ‘permanent’ home in over thirty years, so packing what they would need and being ready quickly was a talent of theirs.  They the trip on their bikes in under three days, having the bus along this time helped.  Going up against voodoo didn’t make any of the witches happy, but they were there with their magic for Lizzie, and they were not your normal spells.  Lizzie faces the Dark voodoo bokor, his reanimated mother, the dark church, which was larger than any church should be, and generally gives the read a very very good time.

I loved the crafting of this book, as well as the concept.  It was very nicely plotted out, and the charters all had such a wide range of talents and abilities and insecurities as to make them believable and relateable.  I give this book five stars for the shear enjoyment I got of the first chapter, each chapter after that was just icing on the cake, from the Red Skulls president who answers to Grandma, to the enlist speaking dog, Pirate, then throw in an adolescent dragon and you get an all over feel good read with a few tense  monents for flavor.  A must read if you like magic, mayhem, sex (just a little), and loyalty mixed together in your books.

About lyssareviews

I am a single, pagan female who loves the written word. I am doing reviews on books to feed my reading habit. I will post those reviews here. I also love movies, TV shows, and laughing with my friends. I love to cochet, and am starting to spin my own yarn. Boy, do I think there very fun stories in that! So they might show up here. Also I have two cats and a small dog. Valkyrie, Miss Dottie and Sir Luck the Pup.... their stories may also sneak in here from time to time, to stay tuned.

Posted on 2015/05/24, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

